The Kenya Accountant and Secretaries National Examination Board (KASNEB) whose motto is providing globally competitive professionals whose incorporated by the Government of Kenya and operates under the National Treasury on 24th July 1969.
The corporation was given the mandate to regulate technician, diploma and professional examinations and candidates’ certification. Kasneb would focus in finance, information technology, accountancy, credit, governance and management and related fields and generation of syllabuses.
KASNEB offers a wide range of courses which include;

1. Certified Public Accountants- CPA
CPA is offered in 3 parts; Part 1, part 2 and part 3.Each part is composed of two sections. Part 1 is divided into 2 sections; section 1 and section 2. Section 1 offers 3 units; Financial Accounting, Commercial Law and Entrepreneurship and Communication. In section 2, the students pursue Economics, Management Accounting and Public Finance and Taxation units.
CPA Part II incorporates section 3 and section 4. Units offered in section 3 are Company Law, Financial Management and Financial Reporting. In section 4, there is Auditing and Assurance, Management Information Systems and Quantitative Analysis.
CPA Part III is composed of section 5 and section 6. Section 5 units includes Strategy, Governance and Ethics, Advanced Management Accounting and Advanced Financial Management while section 6 units include Advanced Public Finance and Taxation, Advanced Auditing and Assurance and Advanced Financial Reporting.

2. Certified Secretaries – CS
Certified Secretaries is offered in 3 parts whereby each part has 2 sections. Section1 of part 1 offers Organisational Behavior, Commercial Law and Business Communication while section 2 offers Economics, Principles of Accounting and Public Finance and Taxation.
Section 3 of part II offers Company Law, Financial Management and Principles and Practice of Management while section 4 has Corporate Secretarial Practice, Management Information Systems and Law and Procedure of Meetings.
CS Part III, Section 5 units include Human Resource Management, Financial Markets Law and Governance and Ethics and section 6 units include Strategic Management, Public Policy and Administration and Governance and Secretarial Audit.

3. Certified Information Communication Technologists- CICT
CICT Part I Section 1 units include Introduction to Computing, Computer Applications – Practical and Entrepreneurship and Communication and section 2 units include Operating Systems – Practical, Principles of Accounting and Computer Support and Maintenance.
CICT Part II section 3 units are Database Systems, System Analysis and Design and Structured Programming and section 4 units include Object Oriented Programming, Web design and e-Commerce and Data Communication and Computer Networks (Practical).
CICT Part III section 5 units are Strategy, Governance and Ethics, Software Engineering and Mobile Application Development while section 6 units are Systems Security, Information Systems Project Management and Research Methods.

4. Certified Credit Professionals- CCP
CCP is offered in 3 portions, Part 1, 2 and 3. Each part is made up of 2 sections with 3 units each. Part I section 1 has Credit Management, Commercial Law and Entrepreneurship and Communication units while Section 2 of part 1 has Economics, Principles of Accounting and Public Finance and Taxation units.
Part II Section 3 is composed of Company Law, Financial Management and Marketing and Public Relations while section 4 is made up of Law Governing Credit Practice, Management Information Systems and Quantitative Analysis units.
Part III section III is made up of Strategy, Governance and Ethics, Banking Law and Practice and
Credit Management in the Financial Sector while section 6 has Debt Recovery, Corporate Lending and Credit Practice units.

5. Certified Investment and Financial Analysts- CIFA
Part 1 is offered in two sections;
Section 1 which offers Financial Accounting, Financial Mathematics and Entrepreneurship and Communication units and section 2 which offers Economics, Financial Institutions and Markets and Public Finance and Taxation units.
Part II has two sections as well. Section 3 which offers Regulation of Financial Markets, Corporate Finance and Financial Statements Analysis units. Section 4 offers Equity Investments Analysis, Portfolio Management and Quantitative Analysis units.
Part III is composed of two sections; section 5 and 6. Section 5 units include Strategy, Governance and Ethics, Fixed Income Investments Analysis and Alternative Investments Analysis. Section 6 units include Advanced Portfolio Management, International Finance and Derivatives Analysis.

Other courses include;
• Accounting Technicians Diploma- ATD
• Diploma in Information Communication Technology- DICT
• Diploma in Credit Management- CMT
• Certificate in Financial/Accounting Management
• Certified Credit Professionals
• Certified Information Communication Technologist (CICT)
• Certificate in Computer Forensics

For more information, visit their website

Leave a Reply